W.O.W.
What a great weekend.
On Wednesday, I woke up really early (at like 6) but fell back asleep because it still wasn't light enough to see outside, which is what I really wanted to see. At around 7 i got up again, and threw open the blinds to see outside, and it was beautiful. And the first thing I saw: a wild bunny!!! It was so cute!
I thought it was pretty cool that the first thing that I saw was my favorite animal.
Then I got up and looked around the yard, and Brianna made me chocolate chip pancakes!! It was so sweet. Then I went outside and played in the (wet and cold) grass for a little while. My feet and hands and nose are always cold here...
At around 11, we went to Garden Of The Gods (Google it. It's worth it) and we went for a walk up in the gardens, and then up to Balancing Rock. Mrs. Fett took some awesome pictures of Brianna and I up there. I'll upload then as soon as I get the proper cords that I need to hook the camera up to the computer.
Then we went around town a little bit, to the Trading Post (an awesome gift shop. It's HUGEEE) and then to the Visitors Center. There I had a soft pretzel. It was great.
Then, we went to a magical place called an American grocery store.
First thing I bought there: dill pickles :D
And 3 notebook and a pack of 10 pens for $2 total. I was amazed.
Then Brianna and I were looking at fruit prices, and 5 lbs. of blueberries were 8 dlls. and 1.5 lbs of cherries was $1.50. It was awesome. I was literally in heaven, and Brianna was making fun of me, so I said 'Hey, it's my first day in America, cut me some slack!' and we kept walking and joking, and a little bit later, this older guy came over, and he was like 'I'm sorry, I couldn't help but overhear you, were you serious that this is your first day in the States?' and I quickly explained where I'm from, and it turned out that he and his wife went to P.V last year, and he knew all about Bucerias and Vallarta. It IS a small world after all.
OH! And they have this odd thing called 'self checkout'. It's so strange! You literally scan in your own junk, and bag it, and pay for it all by yourself. It totally blew my mind. I was like '...... wow.'
Also, I got an American cell phone (lol, i know, so sad. But the number is 719-351-0251)
We got home at around 5:30, and I went and unpacked everything, and chilled in my room under the covers for a little while until dinner.
On Wednesday, I woke up insanely early (again) and Brianna and I went for what was supposed to be a jog, but ended up as a walk. I never realized how much thinner the air is up here compaired to Mexico. Usually jog for about 20 minutes, then I walk 5, but I could hardly jog for 5 minutes without becoming extremely winded. I thought I was just getting old, but then Brianna made a comment about how much thinner the air is here, and that sometimes people pass out from the altitude... needless to say, that made me feel much better.
When we got home, I had a bath... I forgot just how cold porcelain is...
It was pretty unpleasant at first.
Then we went to Souper! Salads (lol i love the name) and had lunch, then we went to Ross and Target, and I took a picture of Ross to document my first time there :P
People looked at me funny (... am I noticing a trend here?)
Then Mrs. Fett took me to New Life Church... I was literally shocked. It was gigantic! It started at 7, and I got there around 5, just to make sure that I would be able to get in.
So after it took a whole 4 seconds to register, I was left alone for the remaining hour and 56 seconds to chill and get my bearings.
As it turns out, the church is equipped for about 12,000 people. Unfortunately, they thought they would only need half of the sanctuary, so they had roughly 6,000 seats available. When all was said and done, there were about 6,400 people. It was so amazing. I have awesome pictures... I just can't upload them.
After the last concert, they opened 'The Lounge' and had free coffee and candy... I found out about this magical candy called 'saltwater taffy'. And it is amazing.
When I asked someone what it was, the person gave me an odd look, as though saying 'what is wrong with you? How do you not know what this goodness is called?? You imbecile.' But she just told me that it was saltwater taffy.
I went home in a little bit of shock that night... and I wanted more taffy. It was great.
On Friday, I woke up at a decent time (... 7 is decent, right?) and got a pretty good seat, close to the front.
In the first seminar, i sat behind these really funny 4 guys, and at the end of the seminar, everyone was standing up and stretching, and one of the guys poked the other one and scared him and made him scream... really loudly. It was hilarious! I laughed, but tried to hide it.
Later on lunch break, I was talking to one of the staff, asking about the church (that's where I got all of my cool number information!) and she was like 'you're really interested, are you thinking of coming here?' so I told her about how I'm from a church with 100 people on the fullest of days, bla bla bla, and she thought it was so cool.
Afterwards, after singing and stuff that afternoon, one of the speakers got up on stage, and he was shouting out to different states present, and at the end, he was like 'Oh, and I hear that we have someone from Mexico here! Could you stand up please?' and at first I didn't want to (have you ever had 6,400 people stare at you?... yeah, it's nerve wracking), but he said that he knew I was there, so I stood up (i was pretty near the front) and he shouted out 'You don't LOOK mexican!' and everybody laughed :( haha it was so embarrassing.
Later that night, I was seeing people walking around with wooden clothes pins hanging off their clothes, and I was wondering what that was about, because some people were walking around taking pictures of the ones who had the pins on them. I would always feel the flashes go off behind me, but I always thought that someone was taking a picture of someone behind e... until about 10:30, some poor girl came up to me and she was like 'Hey, I think you should know that you have a whole bunch of clothes pins hanging off your shirt.' so she took then all off of me, for a grand total of 7 pins. They were on my scarf, the tie at the back of my shirt, and the hem of my top. It was so embarrassing. Each pin said 'You've been pinned!!' and 'Faith Bible Chapel' on each side.
Then, Saturday, the last day.
I got there a little late, but that's ok, because I got a ride in Mr. Fett's shiny silver convertible! With the top down. It was awesome... and cold.
I sat at the very very back of the sanctuary in the first morning service so I could get some good pictures. Then, in the first seminar of the day, I ended up sitting beside this guy and girl, and at first I thought they were married or something, because he treated her really nicely, but they were always bickering and hitting each other in jest. But during the seminar they were super chill and really nice, and at the end of the seminar, we introduced ourselves, and they had just come from Texas and were siblings (He's actually nice to his sister! -brothers, take note-) and we started walking in the same direction, and in the end ate lunch together. During the 2 hours that we spent together, I realized that they were not as low key as I first thought they were. They are so funny together. We ended up sharing klutz stories with each other. It was great.
Then we went to the sanctuary together and all sat together. I was warning Emily about the whole clothes-pin thing, and showed them to her (apparently NO ONE got more than 2 pins pinned on them...) and she decided that she needed to pin one on Nathan. So she pinned it to the sleeve of his shirt, and he didn't feel it for a long time. As I said, they were really funny. We all went to the same seminar again. This time, I made us late, and we had to sit on the floor (the rooms filled up really quickly). While we were sitting on the floor, Nathan started playing with the pin, an pinned it on this girls reaaaally red jacket (I think she deserved it... she was wearing bright purple skinny jeans, a yellow shirt, and a bright red and black tiger striped jacket). She didn't notice so Emily and I laughed really hard.
Then, there was this one guy sitting in front of us, and every time he's leaned forward, his pants would slip to the middle of his butt, so most of his boxers were exposed... unfortunately, the guy had holes in his boxers. That was awkward. Emily thought it was hilarious, and kept bursting out laughing, making me laugh too.
I'm sure it was a great seminar :)
After, they invited me out to lunch with their parents, and we had a great time... I couldn't figure out how the seatbelt worked in the truck, I then fell out of the truck trying to get down, and I totally backed up into Nate. Haha their poor parents didn't even know what hit 'em.
For the last seminar, we all sat together again.
It was amazing. The theme of the seminar was Light Up The World, and in a little white bag under our seats they had given us a CD and a white candle. At the end of the service, they sang 'light of the world' and everybody lit their candles. It started with one tiny flame in the corner of the room, and within minutes the whole room was burning. It was beautiful.
All in all, it was a great conference. I met some great people, heard a great message, and had to keep going into the bathroom to run warn water over my hands to keep them warm haha
Now, today was great.
At around noon we went to the pool, and stayed there for about 15 minutes because it started to thunder, and here in the mountains, thunder means someone getting hit by a bolt of lightning (i didn't get to see anyone get hit ): haha jk
so then we went back to the house and watched movies until about 3, and then we headed up into the mountains to the Fett's cabin.
Let me just say something here: I am a city girl. I grew up in the city, I love the city, I know how to survive in the city (albeit hardly). So when I heard that we were going to a cabin that had neither running water OR indoor plumbing, I was a tiny bit less than thrilled. Like, I can do it (and I did it!) but it scared me a little bit.
Well, when we arrived at the cabit, it was stunning. The view was spectacular (again, I have great pictures, but I can't upload them muahahaha). Unfortunately, what I had forgotten is that we were at 8,400 feet above sea level, so the air was really thing. I almost passed out a few times, which is an odd feeling. But i got used to it really quickly, and I absolutely LOVE it up there.
Brianna and I went for a hike, and then we went fishing. At first I wasn't planning on going fishing, but I found out that I really liked it.
And guess what?! I caught a 3 pound rainbow trout! It was so cool. I reeled it in and Mr. Fett caught it for me. That was part of our wonderful dinner.
Then we went up to the cabin a few hours later, and ate dinner there. It's such a cool old cabin. We're sleeping there tomorrow night.
I can't wait to upload all of the pictures.
Well, it's 12:40 right now, and I'm exhausted. I'm going to go to sleep.
I'll update again as soon as I can.
Thanks guys, and I miss you all!
(Ignore any spelling errors, and I know there are a lot. I don't have spell check and am too lazy to re-read what i just wrote :)
Have a great week!
Kenzie <3
No comments:
Post a Comment