Hey everybody!
Well, I'm alive and I still have my wallet, so that qualifies as a good start to the trip.
I left the PVR at 04:30 pm, and had an ok flight from there to phoenix. I was on the freaking wing, which was the ONE THING that I had asked my travel agent to NOT get me. Needless to say, i was not happy (and those who know me well know that an unhappy Kenzie is a very unpleasant travel companion). My stupid carry on baggage weighed a million pounds (...or like 40... but still. I'm weak lol) and i couldn't get it under my seat, and i wasn't strong enough to lift it all the way up to the over-head carrier, so I had it at my feet the whole flight. Luckily, the lady beside me was really nice, and she was liken seeing that my table couldn't go down because of my knees) 'you can put your drink on my table!' and she was so sweet. Once the flight took off, I was in a better mood because I love the feeling of soaring in the air.
Then when I was getting the paper to go through immigration from the flight attendant, I didn't know which paper I'd need since I'm a Canadian citizen living in Mexico, visiting the states.
So she gave me one of each and told me to give him all of them. So I did!
It was really easy. Apparently, the key to getting through the airports easily is just smiling vaguely and looking lost... People take pity on you.
And pity is close to respect, right??
When I got to the Phoenix airport, everybody was really, really helpful. When I got through the baggage claim and check and surfaced to the terminals, I was toootally lost, and I was looking at my ticket, wondering what my next move would be when this really nice lady and her daughter came up to me and were like 'hey sweetie, you look lost, Can we help?' So they pointed me in the right direction (after pointing me in 2 wrong directions!) and told me exactly what to expect, and that it would feel like a very long walk, but just get to the end and it'll all be fine.
I ate at this odd place called Einstein Bros Bagels and then went to go to my next flight, from Arizona to Denver. The guy who checked y ticket and passport was great, and he gave me awesome directions on how to get to my terminal and what to do once I got there, and what papers I was going to need to present (Phoenix security is really tight). As I was in the terminal area, there was this one guy in a very expensive looking suit and a big, shiny watch on, and I was like 'oh yeah, this guy's a pro at flying. He's all business-chic with his fancy leather briefcase'.
Then, once I boarded the airplane (another bloody wing seat), guess who I was sitting next to???
Ohhhh yeah, Mr. I'm-so-cool-cuz-i-have-an-awesome-watch.
So I'm like 'Hey, may I get through? I'm sitting at the window' and as he was squeezing around me, i apologize for having the giant carry-on from hell today.
Then I realized that my carry-on didn't fit under the seat again, and the male flight attendant was like 'Ok, sweetie, you need to stow away your luggage' and i got really red and told him that it didn't fit under the seat. When he asked why I didn't have it in the overhead compartment, I told him that not only could I not lift it up there, I couldn't reach it!
So he lifted it up, and my travel buddy Mr.Friendly said that he'd get it down for me.
When I arrived in Denver, I was pretty lost.
Everyone surged off the plane and started moving towards these escalators, so naturally I followed. Then we got to this central area, and everybody ran towards this train-like thing, and I got pulled into it, freaking out because I had NO idea what I was supposed to do or where my suitcase was. So, obviously, the door closed on my butt, and a tinny voice came over the intercom saying 'you're delaying the departure of this vehicle. Please step away from the door' so again, cheeks flaming, I crammed into the little trolley. After stopping at 3 stations, I finally got off where they said that we could claim our baggage.
The Fetts (the family that I'm living with) were waiting for me at the top of the escalator, then we went to go claim my baggage.
By this time my hand and arm hurt a loooot, and Mr. Fett took my stuff and carried it for me.
On the drive from Denver to Colorado Springs, I fell asleep 20 minutes into the hour and a half drive, and when I woke up, we were just pulling into the driveway.
Today was a great day.
It's really late right now, so I'm going to go to sleep.
Tomorrow is Desperation Conference, so I extremely excited. I don't have a card reader so I can't upload pictures. Probably Sunday or Monday.
I'll keep posting updates!
Goodnight!
No comments:
Post a Comment